Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | April 7, 2010

Reminders

I have a note at the bottom of my computer screen– a note to myself.  You see, I have little notes here and there throughout my house.  I need lots of reminders.  This note reminds me:

If you haven’t spent some quiet time with your Lord today

If there is something you could do to bless or serve your husband…

If there is a child who could use some special attention…

You really shouldn’t be here!!!

So whoever knows the right thing to do and fails to do it, for him it is sin.

James 4:17

I’m hoping it dampens my appetite!

I don’t begrudge the time I spend recording family history, keeping in touch with loved ones, or even journaling my thoughts here.  It’s the time I spend in rapturous wonder at the infinite amount of information there is to be had on the web.  You know, that whole mental stimulation thing.  I have always, always hungered to learn more, to read more.  Why, the thought of having something of particular interest to read somewhere nearby thrills me down to my very toes!  So you can imagine how tempting the internet can be.  Forget chatting or Facebook or twitter (tweeting?), look at what you can read! Look at how much you can learn!

Look at what an idol it can become!

So I need reminding.  Sure, learning is wonderful.  The mind our Creator blessed us with needs to be stretched and grown and used.  But first and foremost, I need to care for the responsibilities He has given me.  He is faithful, He will give me the time I need to learn what I need to know.

Responses

  1. I found your blog today from Pursuingtitus 2. I love your writing style and your humility. Thanks for sharing your heart and mind!

  2. I, too, agree. It is soooooo easy to get caught up in things. Things that take up our time and we don’t really know its happening until it is too late. How to manage all this is a problem for everyone. I admire you and your family for all you are doing. Idols can be found almost everywhere. Take care and God bless.

  3. Bopping over from Pursuing Titus 2.
    (We are in WY).
    So agree! I, too, love to read and learn and find engaging material on the web. I recently wrote a post called “How the Internet Affects our Contentment with the Ordinary” http://momsinneedofmercy.blogspot.com/2010/03/how-internet-affects-our-contentment.html
    One of my first posts was this–
    http://momsinneedofmercy.blogspot.com/2009/09/texting-twittering-and-status-updating.html
    Blessings!

  4. wonderful. I think I’d better print that out. I, too struggled with (but I might miss something really important that I NEED to know!) Somehow, the Holy Spirit has ‘led’ me to visit blogs at the right time to teach me what HE wants me to know…like yours today. God bless!

  5. This is another thing that has been on my heart and mind! I have had these thoughts, “do I want my children to remember their mama sitting in front of the computer or will they remember me spending time with them. Reading them stories, going on walks etc…


Leave a Reply

Categories

