Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | April 4, 2010

Meditating on James 4:3

You ask and do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, so that you may spend it on your pleasures.

I think on this verse a lot.

I have two problems.

  1. I rarely remember to even ask.
  2. I ask for things that would please myself, not Him.

My arrogance causes me to think I need not even ask for His help, grace, or wisdom.  “Got it all under control there, Father!  No help required!”

Verse 2 before this verse says that I do not have because I do not ask.

Well, that’s one reason I do not have.  Here’s another:

I ask with wrong motives.  I don’t know His heart, the things He desires.  How do I start asking with the right motives?

I have to know Him.  Not a casual “Yeah, I know a little about you.  I go to church a couple of times a week and crack open the ole Bible on occasion.”

Really know Him.

Intimately.  Deeply.  Hungering for more knowledge of Him and His Word.  However else will I have the right motives?  How will I long for what He longs for?  How will I know how to pray for His will to be done?  How can His spirit direct me if we’re barely on speaking terms?

So how in the world can I long for Him?  I can’t make myself want to know Him.  I can’t put that desire into my soul.  How do I get it then?  How do I make myself want to know Him?

I have to ask.  Beg.  Plead.  Again and again and again.

Then I can be sure my motives are right.

Wow.  Kind of full circle.  My God is so awesome.  He makes so much sense.

Responses

  1. Lovely post…thank you for this today!!
    Cath

  2. Such beautiful pictures! You are blessed with such a lovely family. Thank you so much for sharing with us. I can hardly wait till garden time here in VA. Take care and God bless.

  3. 2 Peter 1:5-10 (New King James Version)

    “Fruitful Growth in the Faith”

    5 But also for this very reason, giving all diligence, add to your faith virtue, to virtue knowledge, 6 to knowledge self-control, to self-control perseverance, to perseverance godliness, 7 to godliness brotherly kindness, and to brotherly kindness love. 8 For if these things are yours and abound, you will be neither barren nor unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. 9 For he who lacks these things is shortsighted, even to blindness, and has forgotten that he was cleansed from his old sins.
    10 Therefore, brethren, be even more diligent to make your call and election sure, for if you do these things you will never stumble;

    Thanks for your encouragement Kim… Gabe

  4. Thanks for sharing! Encouraging to read… 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

