Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | April 2, 2010

Potato Plantin’

Oh, how beautiful our Father’s world has been this week here in our little corner!  We are encouraging one another lately to not just see and appreciate the gifts, but to love and praise and worship the Giver of them.  Though they reflect a bit of his glorious creativity and amazing wisdom, they cannot begin to compare to our great Yahweh!

Yesterday was potato planting time.  Last year we harvested about a ton, and we learned that we can sure put them down!  IMO, there’s not much more fun than planting and harvesting potatoes!

This is about half of our potato plot.  Beloved has officially named it “Tater Valley.”

When the garden is “new” there is no shortage of helpers.  Later on is when the “Character building” starts to kick in!  Yesterday, however, there was nothing but enjoyment going on!

Great is Thy faithfulness!

Great is thy faithfulness!

Morning by morning new mercies I see.

All I have needed Thy hand hath provided.

Great is Thy faithfulness Lord unto me!

Responses

  1. Please excuse my “city girl” question …
    When you plant potatoes, what exactly are you putting in the ground? It looks like potatoes! They must just root out and then multiply? If so, have you saved a portion of your harvest from last year for this purpose? How do they last so long??
    No green thumbs here!
    =)

  2. Look at all those little bare feet in the garden…sweeeeet!!!

    I still have snow in mine! Can you believe I can’t even plant a spud in the ground until June.

  3. Looks like so much fun! My children have been saying they can’t wait to get out into the garden, but once it becomes hot it will be the same story as yours. I love how you put it! Character building… 🙂

    I just now realized something! You left a comment on my blog last week and I was so encouraged. I then copied and pasted the blog address you included, but it didn’t work. I was disappointed and hope you would comment again. I really wanted to know who you were!! It is just now I realize that I do visit your blog and have been for some time! I just happened to read your blog address! (I have had your blog link saved in my bookmarks for a very long time!) 😀 I am always blessed and inspired. You had written frost instead of first, but I am so happy I discovered it! Now I know!! I agree with you, it would be so nice if we lived closer!!

    Blessings!

    P.S your baby boy has grown so much! What a sweet looking baby too. 🙂

  4. Glad to see a pic of you and Josh in there! Farm life seems to suite you all very well (praise the Lord for the work he is doing in your home) and it is so sweet and heartwarming to watch the progress! Thanks for sharing!!!

    Megan


Leave a Reply

Categories

