Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | July 14, 2009

For the love of milk…

july 2009 005

Guess what, y’all!  This young lady joined our homestead today and we like her already.  She has this great talent of giving milk, and folks, we LOOVE milk!

july 2009 006

Haven’t decided what to name her yet.  She was being called Harriet, but we’re just not sure it suits her… or us.  Does anyone have any great name ideas to share?  Ashlynne sure has come up with some interesting ones!

july 2009 009

Here our Jersey girl is getting used to her new home.  She sure is fun to watch!  I just wish I could watch her from the house, but the trees obstruct my view.  Josh says that we’ll bring her closer to the house during the winter.

july 2009 011

Josh milked her tonight and got a little over a gallon.  She’s supposed to be giving a gallon and a half to two gallons per milking, but he didn’t push her tonight since she was still a little afraid of her new situation.  We haven’t tasted it yet.  No one really wants to try it warm for the very first time!  We just want to be blown away, you know?!  In the morning, Ashlynne and Rachel get their very first milking lessons.

july 2009 008

So…. what do you think?  Betsey? Clover? Posy? Sweet Cream?

Responses

  1. I keep thinking she looks like a Bessie…what a pretty girl she is! :0)

    Blessings!
    Brandi

  2. How exciting! One of my dreams since I was a child was to have a Jersey cow. Can’t wait for your girls to have their milking lessons:)

    And I like the name Posy. 🙂

    Have a Great Day!

  3. In honor of your corn husking roots now, I think you should name her “Maizy” 🙂

  4. She’s a beauty! Looks like a “Ginger” to me.

  5. I don’t have any ideas for names but I do have a question. Does fresh milk taste a lot different that store bought milk? I had it once when I was a teen and I remember I liked it, and I don’t normally care for milk, but I may have been very hungry at the time, lol. Thanks.

  6. I vote for Sweet Cream….. or Buttermilk…something along those lines. 🙂 Mavis

  7. Oh what a wonderful blessing!
    She’s just to pretty…
    Feels like a homestead now doesn’t it?
    We so long for another milk cow, and hope to by this time next year.
    Blessings to you and yours.

  8. Beautiful cow. 🙂 Any of the names you are thinking of sound nice to me. Sorry, I’m not much help, am I. 😀 We had a Brown Swiss name Brindle. She was a great cow. 🙂 Enjoy all the milk!! Yummy!

  9. How about Buttercup? Or Bossie? Or Flossie? Or Petunia? We hope one day to have a milk cow, too. Enjoy her!

  10. Pansy, or Petunia? I really like Buttermilk as well! 🙂

  11. Pansy or Petunia? I like Buttermilk as well!

  12. Actually….”Jersey girl” sounds like quite a fun name!!

  13. Ever since we started drinking raw milk, I’ve been wanting a cow. She sure is a pretty one. I like flower names for cows: Begonia, Blossom, Bluebell, Daffodil, Daisy, Flora, Flower, Lilac, Lily, Marigold, Pansy, Zinnia. But I really like Sweet Cream too. 🙂

  14. I’m going to comment here because it’s the most recent entry, though I’ve been reading random entries on your blog throughout the day today. It’s really very enjoyable! It came recommended to me buy my friends, the Fourniers, in Perryville, MO. “She sounds a lot like you,” said Shana. Anyway, stop on in at my blog if you like, which is sadly neglected during these busy summer days, and I’ll continue reading through yours.

    Good to “meet” you!
    ~K~

  15. never name an animal after food- too carnivore. I like Matilda. Good sturdy name for a cow.


Leave a Reply

Categories

