Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | June 26, 2009

Projects, plans, and plain hard work…

I’m a little overwhelmed.

Did I say a little?

It’s pretty humbling to realize how completely insufficient you are for most EVERYTHING you need to do, isn’t it?  (Maybe no one else feels that way?)  Thank goodness I have a high priest who can sympathize with my weaknesses, though I’m sure He has to be chuckling at me from time to time as I try to do and learn everything the hard way instead of pleading CONSTANTLY for wisdom on what’s important right now and what’s not.

And when I think of my dear husband’s to-do list…. well, he seems to hold up much better than I.  I think that has to do with perspective, really.  He’s ecstatic about all of his projects.  I’m having to pray earnestly to be thankful and content with all I have to do.  You see, he likes to work.  I am naturally lazy. And folks, I ain’t got no room to be lazy no more.  I have always wished I could love working and really find joy in it and now my Father is giving me a crash course in “Tough up and get on with it and like it 101.”  And I’m glad.  (Most of the time!)

So here’s a sampling of Josh’s projects.  Not that I won’t help with them some, but being seven months pregnant limits my involvement somewhat.

Build a fence for our soon to arrive Jersey.  (Yay for milk!)

Dig a root cellar before our crops come in.

Paint the exterior of the house, because there’s not much paint left on it!

Build supers for the beehives.

Build more chicken tractors.

And then there’s the garden to be weeded and veggies that are starting to be harvested and needing to be preserved.  This garden is massive folks.  See the children lost in the corn out there:

june 09 031

june 09 032

So far, we’ve had all of the lettuce, spinach, and radishes we can stand.  We’ve been able to preserve 19 quarts of saurkraut and I’m in the process of pitting and freezing around five gallons of cherries.  One great thing about living out here is that nearly everyone has a fruit tree or two, and nearly no one wants to be bothered with picking or preserving all the fruit.  Once they know that you are willing to come, you’ll usually get all the invites you can manage.  We are so thankful for this since our own little orchard has just been planted.

june 09 025

june 09 026

june 09 027

Add to this homeschooling, child training, figuring out how to get diapers clean by handwashing, 100 degree weather with no air conditioning, and the usual pregnancy tiredness, and yes, I’ve cried a few times!  However, it usually only lasts a few minutes and my Father graciously reminds me that I have to be one of the most blessed, loved women there has ever been!  Seriously, I am wondrously happy the majority of the time, learning to find my rest and strength in Him, laughing at how far he’s brought me.  He is so good!

Responses

  1. Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting! I enjoyed a look around your site and am totally inspired by your family’s way of life! You are doing things I only dream of! Gina

  2. Wow you guys are really busy!!

    I wish I had the same problem of everyone wanting to share their cherries!! I’ve been trying to find anyone who has cherries so that I can pick some!! My hubby loves cherry pie and I so badly want to try my hand at canning hm cherry pie filling but just can’t bring myself to pay 3.00lb for them at the grocery store.

    And about your garden, my hat is off to you and your hubby, we have a small garden, I can’t even imagine the work involved to maintain, let alone harvest a garden the size of yours. Good luck with it, what a wonderful blessing to enjoy the fruits of your labor!!

    I also wanted to say that I love your blog!! Its very informational and encouraging. I am learning and lot and am very inspired by your blog!!

    Try not to work too hard!! Can’t wait to see what happens next!!

    Blessings!!
    Dana, sahm to 2 wonderful boys ages 7 and 3, expecting a new bundle of joy in Jan. 2010

  3. Oh Kim…I love your posts…it’s like you often write just what is in my heart!
    I have been thinking of you and praying for you a lot lately. I’m so excited to see all the Lord is doing in your dear home. He is so good!
    You are so encouraging to me…thank you for letting the Lord use you!
    love and prayers,
    Jaynee

  4. Your garden in lovely! I can understand you feeling overwhelmed, I know I would be too. May the Lord give you the strength to carry on. You are very blessed. 🙂

  5. I just wanted to add, I’m inspired when I visit your blog. 🙂

  6. You are doing cherries with a WHITE shirt on? What a brave woman! Your shirt reminds me of one that I spilled communion grape juice on years ago. Then again, when I’m pregnant, any shirt gets a good share of stains right where it hits the edge of the counter. Your blog fills me with a longing that aches, to finally be in the same position as you – living off the land as much as possible. We’ve been working our way there for the past 4-5 years. Lord willing . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

