Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | June 9, 2009

This Old House…

One consolation when living in an old, slightly rough, very out of date farmhouse is the excitement you feel every time something gets done.  Sometimes I’m tempted to look at it the wrong way and think, “My, now that that’s finished it sure does make the rest of the place look shabby!”  I wish I didn’t do that, though.   It would please my Father so much more if I were just  thankful for every little improvement because I know that I don’t have to have any of them, nor am I somehow entitled to them.  Good grief, how rich I am just the way things are, anyway!  I want to soak in the blessings and not dwell on what I want to do, or get, next.

My dear parents are here and are blessing us so very much with their fellowship and their gifts of service.  I’ll be sharing with you soon the magic my dad and Beloved have worked on my summer kitchen.  That deserves a post of its own!  Today I want to show you what my mother has done with my bathroom!

It would have been much more dramatic and extreme home makeoverish had I remembered to take some before pictures, but alas, I did not inherit my mother’s interior decorating gene.  I just like things to be neat and organized.  (Not that everything in my house is!)   The only decorating preference I have is “bright colors.”  When you live in a climate that hands you a very colorless landscape five or six months out of the year, having a bright, cheery environment indoors will really lift your spirits.  At least that’s my theory!  So I’ll give my mom a color, she’ll rummage through my very limited stash of,er, decorating stuff, and really pull off something pretty.  (Can you tell that I am not a decorator?)

OK, think empty, beige walls with a towel covering the window.  Yep, I’m that stylish.  And then my mom shows up:

june 09 014

And Mom says you really need to have a place to just sit in the bathroom, too.  OK, sounds great to me.  I always thought that was just one more use for the toilet!  Anyway.

june 09 015

june 09 016

Cheery, no?  Thanks, Mama!

Responses

  1. So true! I just had to click through and tell you, though, that after I moved back to Nebraska from just over a year in Colorado, I was amazed at how excited I was to see all the lovely shades of brown. I had been THAT homesick! I hope you are someday able to love this state and consider it your own as much as we natives do.

  2. The bathroom looks great! How nice to have help with the decorating.
    I have no decorating gene myself although I really appreciate a neatly decorated room.
    Thank you for the update on how the house is coming along.

  3. Gorgeous! Your mom truly did bless you 🙂

  4. It looks beautiful! I can’t wait to see the photos of your outdoor kitchen 🙂

  5. Good reminder! We have been plugging away for nearly 3 years on our old farmhouse, and I admit, I easily slide into that wanting it all done now mode. The bathroom looks beautiful! What a great mom!

  6. Congratulations on the bathroom, and the coming addition to the family. I know exactly how you feel when it comes to even little improvements on an old house making a world of difference. 🙂

  7. This is about the same color I painted our dinning room. I had your mom in mind when I picked the color.


Leave a Reply

Categories

