Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | May 10, 2009

My Mamas

Every mother is special, sure.  But there’s no one quite like your mother and your mother in law.  It really stinks to not get to see them on Mother’s Day, let me tell you.  Since these two lovely ladies both know that I barely remember what day of the week it is anymore, let alone when an important holiday is coming up, I’m sure they both thoroughly expect me to not remember this one.  Does an online ode to the most important mothers in your life count?

My mother in love:

Luke and Jordans Wedding 2008 - 2 036

How I love this lady.  From day one, she has treated me exactly as if I were her real daughter.  Well, spoiled me is more like it.  You can never out give her, you can never out love her.  I have no idea what it’s like to have a meddlesome, annoying mother in law.  She’s a jewel!

Here is a lady who gave birth to five children in five years, homeschooled them all through high school, and I’ve never once heard her complain about the time invested in them or what else she could have done or been.  Inspiring.  And how she even fed them all in those early years, I’m not sure, but I have heard some pretty amazing tales from my husband about how far his mother could stretch one chicken per week!

Of course, I think her biggest accomplishment lies in the son I’m honored to share my life with, but then again, I think there may be some bias there!  I’m sure, like I do, Debbie must have fretted and worried about her “failures” or weaknesses in mothering and how it would affect her children.  I only pray that God’s grace would enable me to raise up such a son as she did.   I love you, Mom!

My Mama:

march 09 039

My mom has never had great material possessions, but it’s never mattered to her.  There has never been any doubt in my mind that she regards herself as extremely rich.  I can’t count how many times I heard from her during my growing up years that she would rather have all the time she spent with us at home than all the fancy, silly stuff she could get out in the world.  Her contentment and joy in her family left a deep impression in my life.

As her only daughter I was the recipient of so much wisdom when it came to womanhood.  She was the one person I could turn to when the world scoffed at my old-fashioned ambitions.  She told me many times, “Nothing could make me any more proud than for you to be a wife and mother.”  All the pressure from friends, family, and college recruiters meant nothing.  To her I wouldn’t be “wasting my mind”.  I didn’t have to “prove” myself to the world and compete for status and money.  She was proud of my goals and she was my best friend.  Who cared what everyone else thought!

I love you, Mama.  Thanks for all you did do instead of all you could have done.  It has meant the world to me.

Happy Mother’s Day!

Her children rise up and call her blessed….

Many women have done excellently, but you surpass them all!

Proverbs 31:28-29

Responses

  1. I called both of our moms this week to give them a heads up about the packages I sent – out of concern that they might faint from the shock when receiving their Mom’s Day gifts in the mail ON TIME!

    Certainly, such a beautiful tribute like the one you posted here will long be treasured!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

