Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | January 10, 2009

New Year’s Resolve #1

To pray for the Holy Spirit to work in the lives of my children.

nov-2008-033

I am a recovering “materials” kind of mother.  I love finding excellent books, tapes, and other various resources that will teach my children doctrine, character, manners, etc.  I have some really great things to assist me in training them, but the Spirit has been convicting me of something:

That’s the easy part.

Easy?  Devoting so much time to catechizing, scripture memory, learning old hymns, reading endlessly, — that’s easy?  Yes, because it’s something I can do. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying these are bad things.  I know that impressing the Word of God in our children constantly is not optional  ( Deut. 6: 2-9).   But my trust and hope should be in the Holy Spirit who grants salvation and growth, not my own efforts and hard work.  It’s much easier for me to do rather than trust.  It’s much easier to work rather than pray fervently.

Oh, Lord, my children need a mother who prays, not a mother who thinks her plan has everything under control!

nov-2008-010

Responses

  1. Greetings in Jesus name,
    I love reading your site. I fully agree with your most recent article. We need the power of God or else all of our good works are nothing more than that.
    http://www.babyhomepages.net/tenlittleinions

  2. I too love finding “gently used” materials to help build godly character into my children. It is very hard to find though. I can’t believe how much “filth” and junk there is out there, especially made just for children. UGH…

    I love the magazine “Above Rubies” btw!

    Blessings, Kelly in Michigan

  3. I completely agree with you.

  4. Like I really have a say, I have no kids. But my Mother has always put first priority in prayer. She has a morning time in prayer with God for an hour and she prays in detail not only for us but for anyone she knows that needs help. It is a standard that I measure my own life by.

  5. Howdy! I’m passing on a Lemonade Award to you…I always know you’ll have something uplifting and positive to say. You can grab the picture to display from my blog & pass it along to others if you’d like!

  6. We finally got internet in our “temporary” home here too! I missed you! 🙂
    I could have written this post myself as it is something that the Lord has convicted me of so much the past month. I needed to read this this morning.
    Thank you.
    love and prayers,
    Jaynee


Leave a Reply

Categories

