Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | December 4, 2008

A place for us?

I can hardly believe that it’s nearing the one year anniversary of our move to Nebraska.  What a year it’s been!  We came with such high hopes and exact plans of how everything would work out and God allowed most of them to turn on their heads!  We’ve had a good bit of tears, frustration, and disappointment, but we’ve been on an invaluable, lesson-learning journey that we wouldn’t change for anything.  We have learned more and more to find our contentment in Him, not in what we think He should bless us with.  If we were to continue to rent this place forever, shelving all of our “what we would do with our own piece of land” plans, then it would be just what we need.  This agrarian dream of ours would mean nothing apart from His will for our lives.

So what was our “agrarian dream”?  What was worth the agonizing pain of moving so far from everyone we knew?

God gave us a vision for our family.  And it was so kind of Him to give it to both of us.  Now, initially the part about moving so far away was a real problem for me.  I wanted to have my cake and eat it, too, so to speak.  The idea of getting out of debt, buying a piece of land on which to support ourselves, building a small home as we could afford it, and having my husband home working on the land, interacting with his children all day was a dream come true– as long as we could live in Tennessee, preferably within a few minutes of our families!  However, have you noticed how expensive land is?  We looked for years, but it wasn’t happening.  How bad did I want it now?  Was I willing to move somewhere that was more affordable?  Was our growing conviction that this is how God would have us raise these little ones he gave us strong enough?  By His grace it was.

So we moved.  It was a stab through the heart, but we did it.  Surely things would work out just peachy, us being so obedient and all.—-  Um, OK God.  What are you up to?  Turns out He was up to a lot.  He was making us more patient.  He was allowing us to gain more information in certain areas.  He was waiting for us to meet new people.  He was humbling us and helping us to realize that you can want a good thing too much.  He was working out a plan.  He’s so awesome.

Now I still don’t know all of that plan, of course, but I’m getting little glimpses that are breathtaking.  We are almost ready to close on our little homestead.  No, it’s not what we had planned at all.  It’s far less land than we initially wanted, but we’ve had a wake up call on land taxes and figure since our main cash business will be honey, that bees just don’t take a lot of space!  We prayed that God would make it so clear that we would have no choice when it came time to buy a place and I think He has.

How does a farmhouse, five acres, and a creek for under $20, 000 sound?  Too good to be true?  That’s what we thought, too.  Yes, it needs cosmetic work done but it appears to be structurally sound.  It needs paint inside and out, lots of cleaning, and I’m sure there are a number of other things, as well.  Having a husband who was once in the building/ remodeling industry is helpful in this situation!  Are you ready for some pictures?

crab-orchard-house-007

A bit of pasture across the creek:

crab-orchard-house-009

A close up.  It may look small, but it’s 1800 square feet.  And I thought I’d be living in a shed or something!

crab-orchard-house-001

A view from behind.  Any outside painting would have to wait until spring.  I’m thinking light yellow with white trim.  What do you think?

crab-orchard-house-004

Lots of character inside.  There’s hardwood under them thar’ beautiful shag carpets!  Check out the pretty trim.

crab-orchard-house-025

It has a mud room (oh how I’ve always wanted one of those!), and a dining room for that big table Josh is going to build for me (Hi, Honey!  I love you!) so that my kitchen can be nice and open.  It also has cabinets on the other side of the kitchen.  I’d like to paint them white, I think.  What do you say, does that floor stay or go?

crab-orchard-house-023

Here’e one of my favorite spots in the house.  The walls are plaster and need repaired and painted.

crab-orchard-house-016

The floors upstairs are nice.  Oh yeah, the roof is new, so any watermarks you see were made prior to that.

crab-orchard-house-017

Not everything is finalized yet.  I really hope I haven’t posted this too soon.  The Lord willing, all we have to do is sign the closing papers and it’s ours.  Oh, we do have to pay for it, I suppose.  But it’s such a piddly amount for a house that it doesn’t seem that big of a deal!  Another really exciting thing is that it’s in a tiny little town of 49 people.  It has a post office and a gas station where the old farmers gather to drink coffee in the mornings. Sounds like a Josh magnet to me.  And we will have NEIGHBORS!  Neighbors sound nice!

This has gotten to be a very lengthy post.  I’m just excited to tell you of His faithfulness!

Responses

  1. Kim,
    Change a few words and small details and this story could be about our move to Argentina. How difficult it was, but we felt so blessed that the Lord led us somewhere that we could afford, a place in which our family could all be together and work the land and, Lord willing, sustain ourselves. I am excited for you all, congratulations and I can’t wait to hear more about your move.
    May the Lord’s blessing shine upon you and yours,
    Jessica
    PS. Did you get my reply to your Rod and Staff question?

  2. Wow, how neat!!! The trim reminds me of our house and I’ve wondered what it would be like to remove the carpet and refinish the hardwood underneath them in our own house. Hopefully, I’ll get plenty of advise and information from you all :). What a neat home and I can just see the memories to come and yet see that so many memories were already formed there years ago. So happy for you all.

  3. oh yeah, those composite tiles may just have to go.

  4. How great for you guys. It sounds perfect and what an awesome deal. I actually like the checkered floor in the kitchen. I am sure if it is polished up and cleaned it would look very country. I can’t tell how good of shape it is in though. Congrats again. What a wonderful story.:)

  5. Oh Kim, it is just a lovely piece of land and house…and how beautiful it will be when you make it a home. I am so very happy for you all!
    Your post reminds me so much of many of the same thoughts/feelings/Lord’s leading that we went through a few years ago in moving here. And like you said, while it has been nothing like we really expected/planned, we are just sooo undeservedly blessed and so very happy.
    1800 sq feet!! That’s great…that should easily fit 14 Lockwoods should the Lord ever allow us to come for a visit 🙂
    love and prayers,
    Jaynee

  6. Congratulations on the house!!!!

    Yes, may a little TLC would help, but it’s standing well and a NEW ROOF?! That’s worth a lot! 🙂 It’s adroable!

    I agree–rip up that old carpet!!! The house I grew up in had awful chocolate brown carpet that my parents ripped up to reveal the most beautiful hard wood!!! It’s wonderful! 🙂

    We’re praying for this step forward! May God be glorified! 🙂 Love you!

  7. yes, and please pardon my lousy spelling, too! 😉

  8. I often read your blog, but have never commented before. When I saw you were buying an older home, I just had to say congratulations! My husband and I recently purchased a heritage property that, like yours, needs some cosmetic work. It has been a tremendous challenge, and will continue to be, but we love it!

    I am so happy to see that a home that looks as if it has been a bit “forgotten” will be once again filled with a loving family. All the best to you.

  9. waouh!!! it looks great! You are very courageous! May God bless you in all your steps!

  10. I think your new home and your teachable spirit are just lovely:-)

  11. I happened upon your blog today and was so blessed by reading. My family made our move to Western Nebraska for some of the same reasons and I find a sisterhood spirit in your writings. We could not afford the lifestyle we were heading toward in Austin or Dallas/Ft. Worth, Texas and for that and actually several other reasons, we left behind all friends and family and made the over 1,000 mile journey to a teeny town not far from the foothills of Mt. Rushmore. Family keep begging us to move back to Texas, but we got such an inexpensive home and we can walk to anything we need from our home. I can’t imagine going back to cell phones, multiple grocery stores, restaurants everywhere, etc.

    I love your farm house! It looks like a home filled with love and a place my family would love to visit one day. I’d love to discover if you happen to live nearby or at the opposite end of the state. We’re in Dawes County, but we drive down through York, NE on our way to Texas visits.

    I’ll put your in my reader. So not to “meet” you!

  12. *REVISED* My dear, I happened upon your blog today and was so blessed by reading. My family made our move to Western Nebraska for some of the same reasons and I find a sisterhood spirit in your writings. We could not afford the lifestyle we were heading toward in Austin or Dallas/Ft. Worth, Texas and for that and actually several other reasons, we left behind all friends and family and made the over 1,000 mile journey to a teeny town not far from the foothills of Mt. Rushmore. Family keep begging us to move back to Texas, but we found such a lovely inexpensive older (1911) home and we can grow a large garden and walk to anything we need from our house. I can’t imagine going back to cell phones, multiple grocery stores, restaurants everywhere, etc. without experiencing some massive culture shock!

    I love your farm house! It looks like a home filled with love and a place my family would love to visit one day. I’d love to discover if you happen to live nearby or at the opposite end of the state. We’re in Dawes County, but we drive down through York, NE on our way to Texas visits.

    I’ll put your in my reader. So nice to “meet” you!

  13. Hello everyone! Thanks for all the well wishes!

    Jessica: Yes, thanks for the info. I did go ahead and order. I’m hoping it comes today, I’m so excited!

    Jaynee: You must not toy with me that way. Now I will never let you forget that! PLEASE come see us if you are even remotely near the midwest. You know, Mexico doesn’t seem that far away to me!

    Shaye: Thanks for visiting! How great to meet another Nebraskan! Nice to meet you, too!

  14. Oh, Kim, that is just so marvelous. I am so excited for you guys!

  15. Its a great house!! be careful of lead paint however.
    I think yellow is a good idea. Make sure that you throw a little bit of red. It compliments yellow so well.

  16. What a fun adventure. Our children remember our time building our home, living in a camper while doing it on 10 acres in the middle of poison oak, as the greatest time ever! Have fun. God will work it all out and remember to find the joy in all that comes your way~

    What a beautiful family you have~

    If Jaynee comes to the Midwest – ever – we’ll have to have a group get together as we’re just next to you in Iowa 🙂

    ~Cinnamon

  17. Hi…Kim and cousins…remember me? I’d tried to leave a comment before and I suppose that I did not do it correctly. Anyway, I’m proud of you and your family! Your Mom, Lovanda, sure does miss you guys. I plan on retiring from my present job in a year or two and was wondering if I might stop by on my motorcycle cross country trip and get a piece of that apple pie that you make?! God bless and take care!

    Duane Hill

  18. Congrats on your new house and land!!

    It takes alot more than looks to make a house a home, and I think once you and your husband are done adding your touches to the house it will indeed be a nice home for you and your family!! Once its finished you will be able to look back and remember how far you have come and what a great experience it has been.

    Again congrats!! I love your blog!!
    Dana

  19. Congrats on your new house and land!!

    It takes alot more than looks to make a house a home, and I think once you and your husband are done adding your touches to the house it will indeed be a nice home for you and your family!! Once its finished you will be able to look back and remember how far you have come and what a great experience it has been.

    Again congrats!! I love your blog!!
    Dana

  20. Oh what a great home..
    I’m sure that you and your family, in this house, will have a nice “nest” .

    But about painting it yellow..Hm i’m from scandinavia and ses a lot of theese tree-houses, and thyre very lovely.But you migth consider light-blue instead.
    Bugs just love yellow , but for some reason the don’t like blue.
    Try and test it in the summer, hang out a yellow shirt and a blue shirt. after one hour check back on them , and you’ll see:)
    Crazy..I know, but actually it was my grandmother that told me, and you know…Grandmothers are often very wise;)well works for me anyway.

    May your new home and your wonderfull family always be blessed.

    Kirsten

  21. and oh I forgot, I think your kitchen cabinet would be lovely in a sort of natural white or off-white
    and the kitchen floor should stay.
    you’re so blessed:)

  22. and oh I forgot, I think your kitchen cabinet would be lovely in a sort of natural white or off-white
    and the kitchen floor should stay.
    you’re so blessed:)
    Kirsten

  23. My hubby and I would love to do just what you have done but are not sure where to begin? He retired from the military after 22 years and is now doing a year overseas just for ‘the fun’ of it. haha He will return this year and we will be on the hunt for property and rural-ness. 🙂 As a military family always being told where to live and how to do everything we don’t know where to start. How do we find a place and where do we start looking?


Leave a Reply

Categories

