Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | November 29, 2008

A Thanksgiving Scrapbook

Enter his gates with thanksgiving,

And His courts with praise.

Give thanks to Him;  bless His name.

For the Lord is good;  His lovingkindness is everlasting,

And His faithfulness to all generations.

Psalm 100: 4-5

My mama made a feast for thanksgiving.  She and my dad drove a thousand miles to bless us with family for the holidays.  Their sacrifice is such a picture of love to all of us.  My mom saves all the money she earns housecleaning to buy gas for these excursions across the country.  Trips that they never would have dreamed they would have to travel to see their grandchildren.  Thank you so much!

nov-2008-044

Making memories…..

nov-2008-045

The final masterpiece.  Miss Katharina was napping during our fit of craftiness, so I snuck up to her room and traced her hands while she slept.  She never stirred.  Now I’ll never forget that.  Note to self:  write more of these things down!  See her sweet little yellow hands!

nov-2008-046

Oh, my….  Mama’s thanksgiving food.  I never imagined I would get to eat it this year.  And see my beautiful Daddy?

nov-2008-047

Josh’s parents, whom I’m sure would be here every chance they could get, as well, if they had flexible work schedules, were also “here” with us.  They are so dear to send goody boxes in the mail.  I was awakened far too early Thanksgiving morning because they just COULDN’T open the box without me.  But it was worth it to get my bag of pecans!

Turkey tasting is very taxing.  My, that’s cheesy.  But it’s getting late and I’m tired, too!  What a darling pair!

nov-2008-050

Here are two precious sissies who must sleep with their heads together so they can whisper and giggle after the lights are turned out.  One more thing to be thankful for.  I guess they were too spent to giggle tonight.  Check out Kate’s toboggan.  She insists on wearing it to bed because she thinks it matches her pajamas!

nov-2008-052

Oh give thanks to the Lord,

For He is good;

For His lovingkindness is everlasting!

Psalm 107:1

Responses

  1. How wonderful that you got to spend the holiday with your family. Glad to hear you had a great one. The picture of the girls sleeping together is so cute.:)

  2. This was the sweetest blog I read all day! I love the pictures. The turkey craft with different hand sizes is great!
    Bethany

  3. Whoa, looks like Josh is participating in No-Shave November…

  4. hello shim. its been a long time since we have talked. someone showed me the link to this and i was just amazed. you have done so great. you have my email address if you would like to write back. i wish you all the best.

  5. that is all SO lovely. I am glad your Thanksgiving was wonderful.

    Give the little authoress a hug for me. That girl is just so special to me.

    PS Ryann will be sending a letter out today
    : )

  6. So, what brought you to Nebraska? Just curious if both your families are out of state…:)

  7. The kids and I are just amazed at how similar our familes are (well, except some particulars about our husbands, though they dote on their little ones the same). I periodically bag up their toys when they’re not looking and give them one week see if they miss anything. If they do, I’ll CONSIDER looking for it in the bag and returning it to it’s “place” on the floor or under their bed. I’ve had similar thoughts toward books lately, too. I love ’em, but maybe do we have just a few too many… Our kitchen appliances are almost identical. We’re taking baby steps off grid and the next step is to replace the Nutrimill with the Country Living. The kids in the kitchen, in the garden, tending critters, hanging clothes… My oldest two are girls and will be 10 and 8 this November. Ashlynne reminds me so much of my oldest girl! And your thoughts on your spouse, your children, the world around you… I shouldn’t write anymore, just post links to your entries. (That would sure save time!) Anyway, we about lost it when we saw this Thanksgiving post with the construction paper turkey, just like we made last year!

    I thought I’d posted my email for ya but I see now it says, “will not be published” by it. Email me at daisyblend@gmail.com when you get a chance.

    ~K~
    (So we’re at Thanksgiving ’08 – less than a year to go in my backwards reading. Had me panicked when I saw you had another blog! We managed.)


Leave a Reply

Categories

