Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | October 29, 2008

Digging Rubies

Here is a picture I am somewhat proud of:

Yes, that is Mrs. Nancy Campbell holding an eleven day old Caleb. See his smile?

I’m sure that many of you know very well who Nancy Campbell is. For those of you who don’t, allow me to put in a plug for this lady. I firmly believe that she has been used by God, possibly more than anyone else, to elevate the status of motherhood and to encourage younger women to not only find contentment, but to glory in their work at home. If inspiration is what you need, you need to get hold of some of her materials!

Start here: Above Rubies magazine is free for the asking. If you don’t get it, you really want to start. It’s like taking an encouragement pill! Even my little ones love to read it! And if you could only pick one of her books, I highly recommend The Power of Motherhood. It will be required reading for my little rubies one day.

Oh, and if you ever hear of an Above Rubies Retreat in your area, GO! My midwife helped coordinate a retreat just down the road from my home in Tennessee on my due date! Of all the nerve, huh? I’d been waiting for that event my entire adult life, and it was scheduled for my due date! Thankfully, Caleb came eleven days before it. During late labor I sat up straight with sudden realization and told my midwife, “Now I can go to the retreat!” Laughing, she responded, “If Nancy Campbell heard you say that, she’d put you on the cover of her magazine!”

I was so delighted when she happily agreed to hold him for a picture. However, she didn’t want to return him. I waited patiently for a while, then I grew concerned (postpartum hormones). Did she think I was giving her my firstborn son out of gratitude for the years of mentoring? Was it even ethical to ask Nancy Campbell to give you your baby back? Finally, she reluctantly handed him over. OK, it couldn’t have been longer than half an hour, but when the baby is new, five minutes out of your arms feels like an eternity!

Responses

  1. I LOVE Above Rubies! I read it cover to cover when it comes and I can’t put it down until I’m done. It has been a huge source of encouragement to me on several different occasions.

    I would love to go to a retreat…I’ll have to check out their schedule. What an adorable picture!

    Blessings,
    Brandi

  2. You Have An Awesome Blog Keep Up The Good Work ..Cheers 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

