Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | October 28, 2008

A Mother-Daughter Conversation

Setting: Mom is curled up in the recliner with a book (what else?) when a tow-headed young girl plops down on the arm of said recliner, sighing audibly.

Mother: (putting book aside) What’s the matter, honey?

Daughter: (shoulders sagging in an exaggerated fashion) I’m just worried about something.

Mother: About what?

Daughter: I just don’t… I just don’t know how I’ll ever pick the right husband! What if I pick wrong?

Mother: (tries not to laugh, then frowns as she ponders how to explain) Wellllll, you see, um, you don’t have to pick all by yourself. That wouldn’t really be wise. God gave you a mom and dad to help you make important decisions like that.

Daughter: You mean you and Daddy will help me pick a husband?

Mother: Well, yes. I mean, I hope so.

Daughter: (gives Mother a fast squeeze) Good! Bye Mama! (skips off with the weight of the world off her shoulders)

Mother chuckles and realizes she’s really in for it in a few years.

Responses

  1. I can help her pick a husband…

    🙂

  2. I’ve told you before, bring it on!

  3. Awww…that is so sweet.
    WE are right in the middle of our first experience with a courtship with our dear rubie. It is still a worry to her at her age of 21 but she is comforted that we are there right alongside her!

    That was just a sweet conversation. Please keep bringing your rubies up in the Lord’s admonition! God bless you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

