Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | October 5, 2008

Stop the Insanity!

Does anyone else feel like their possessions are overtaking their lives?  Am I the only one who spends a good portion of the day picking up stuff and directing others to pick up what’s left?  Every….single….day!  Are you starting to be aware of the grip materialism has on you?  Do we really need all this STUFF????

I have been struggling with my preoccupation with things.  Things clutter my home.  Things clutter my mind.  Things clutter our van and our yard!  I have catalogs full of new things that I’ll try to figure out how to purchase when I don’t use half of the things I already have! I’m missing out on enjoying my children by having to manage so many things! Satan is in this, I know it!  Tell me how on earth I’m supposed to fix my mind on Christ, meditate on Him, and teach my children to do likewise, when I’m so busy managing my possessions!

Our nation is obsessed with acquiring more, more, more!  People work themselves to the point of exhaustion to pay the bare minimum on a mountain of debt, while dreaming of what they can enslave themselves with next.  Is this how we define success?  NO ONE IS EVER, EVER SATISFIED WITH THEIR STUFF!

God, in his mercy, has been opening my eyes to my greed through His Word and others.  I found some wonderful information about this topic on this website.  I urge you, read this post and read all the links to the other posts she gives.  I couldn’t stop reading.  I had to print them all out and read them over and over again!

I’m beginning a reformation of sorts next week.  Recovery is going to be long and ongoing, but it starts next week, Lord willing.  I’m simplifying our schedule so that I can begin the process of purging our possessions.  I plan on taking a room per day, filling garbage bag after garbage bag.  I would plan on donating all of it, but I seriously doubt that even Goodwill would want our worn out junk!  After I fill up all these bags, I want to do it again!

What would it feel like not to worry about clutter?  To get rid of it instead of organizing it so you can fit more in? (Oh, I’m so over that!)  Would de-cluttering my mind leave more room for Him?  Oh, I want to see!

Stay tuned for updates on simplifying my life!

Responses

  1. Yep I too hit that same wall where we had two choices, 1. buy a bigger house or 2. get rid of so much stuff! Seeing that the Lord hasn’t handed down thousands of dollars to us and the economy is so aweful there was only one option, get rid of so much stuff. How did I do it, EBAY!!! First I started off with small things like used perfumes/colognes (which did the best!) and then started ransacking the house from every nook and cranny! Slowly but surely it is going oz. by oz. and we are receiving dollar by dollar. Sometimes I am amazed by what sells and praise God for helping us both declutter and pay the bills. Hope it goes well for you getting rid of all that stuff too!

  2. On one hand, I keep things pretty simple around here. On the other hand, it’s all relative. Our kids have learned that they’re happier, sleep more peacefully when their rooms are cleared of clutter, and my husband is quick to direct me when I say something like “Can we get a new chair for the living room?” with a simple statement like “Look around at what we already have.” However, and for example, I’ve slowly built up a collection (now 7 pieces) of cast iron cookware and hardly ever use those other previously loved pieces in my cupboards …. but it’s down right painful to think about getting rid of them. Oh there’s more – lots more. I probably have much more “stuff” than you do, and I know we have much less stuff than the neighbors. And that’s why comparing DOESN’T work. May we look to the Lord to direct, convict, purge and fill our lives.

  3. Wow! Thankyou for these wonderful links.I’ve always desired not to secularize our children,and many of their DVD’s, books and toys are already Christian, but I’ve always had another desire as well- not to “commercialize” them. While we don’t let our children get a fixation on collecting any particular image, I’ve really had it burning in my heart lately, DO THEY REALLY NEED THESE OTHER THINGS AT ALL?
    I never associated “Commercializing” children with Idolotry! These were excellent articles, and I can’t wait to share them with my husband.
    Claire

  4. I struggle with that everyday. I have been cleaning out a LOT of stuff for our garage sale and it feels so good. I can stil do more though. When our home is less cluttered I feel so much more energetic. I can breathe better. It is a great feeling. I can’t wait to see how you guys do with getting rid of the clutter.Good luck.:)

  5. Oh, Kim! How I feel your pain! I am constantly purging our posessions to goodwill or the trashcan. I just must make sure I don’t replace them with others. It’s amazing how much you don’t miss when it’s gone. 🙂

    i look forward to sharing this journey with you! 🙂

    love you!

  6. I don’t like clutter at all. I do have storage rooms, but that’s for stuff we do use. We just don’t use it on a daily basis. I’m not a pack rat. In fact I’m still in the process of cleaning out the house, and rearranging for autumn. I know it’s been like months I feel like I’ve been doing this, but it’s hard to keep up and do the regular chores sometimes. LOL!! I tackle my boys room atleast every two months and throw out “stuff” that seems to find it’s way in there. Enjoy your declutting!
    Peace,Kris

  7. Thank you for this post I really appreciated it! My husband and I have been going around the house with a garbage bag doing the same thing! I look forward to your simplifying updates! 🙂

  8. We just did this… and it was mainly because we moved from a 4 bedroom house (my husband, two children, and I) to a 1 bedroom house. I couldn’t believe the “stuff” we had everywhere in our big house, and now it is a breeze to clean up the house! And it was so liberating!

    Good for you for doing it now rather than later!


Leave a Reply

Categories

