Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | October 3, 2008

There’s a feeling in the air…

Ahhhh.  The sky is sparling clear.  There’s a nip in the morning air.  The squirrels are working like mad under my oak tree.  Fall is in the air.  Winter is on the way.

Once again, God is about to let things die so he can bring them back to life again.  All creation is in preparation mode, looking forward to slowing down and snuggling in.  We, too, are excited to store up for the winter.  Sure, by the time the last bean is broke or the last apple is peeled, you start to wonder if it’s all worth it.  But somehow, the idea of being ready when the first snow flies pushes you ahead.  It is entirely cozy to think of spending the long winter days tucked in around the corn stove with my loves.

Here are a few shots of winter preparation in action!

There’s nothing like spotting a combine outside your door to generate excitement.  Caleb will watch it with his mouth hanging open ever so slightly.

Oh, those bread and butter pickles.  I could eat an entire jar by myself! (I might just do it, too!)

Benjamin has found his winter hibernating spot.  Josh has an old jacket on the bench on the front porch that he adopted.  Trouble is, he likes to burrow under it at night to keep warm.  He has narrowly escaped certain death twice now as Josh almost sat on him!

Are we ever rich in apples!  Three people have graciously given us an abundance.  One of them was a stranger who had been told by a neighbor that we could surely use them.   Don’t you think our Father just delights in working things out for us like that?  I’m so used to rationing food that it seems strange to see my children walking around with a whole apple in their hands-several times a day!  I’ve been peeling and slicing endlessly, putting a new batch in the dehydrator as soon as I get an old one out.  I can already taste the muffins, oatmeal, granola, and pies.  Mmmm.  Heavenly!

Here’s just one of my apple dumplin’s!

And here is Miss Katharina displaying the red tongue she gets from Daddy’s canned habanero beets.  Yes, she eats them willingly.  Begs for them, even.  Beets:  blood purifiers.

Anyone want to share how your harvest is progressing?

Responses

  1. You guys are going to be really prepared. I love this time of year. I wish we had somewhere to put a garden but we don’t. My mom has one though and she loves it. My youngest daughter LOVES to eat tomatoes whole right out of the garden.

  2. Looks like you are really getting ready!

    Your blog is wonderful. I came over from Kris’s country mom blog.

    When you get a chance you are going to have to share your schedule with me! Seriously…I am not kidding! You seem to get so much done.

    Hugs and blessings…

  3. here’s a good idea that I love… peel an apple for the kids and then put one of those little corn holders on each side. My 2yr old loves it, because after I peel it, the apple is too slippery for him!
    Danielle

  4. I just love your blog. I have one on homestead blogger, but sometimes I fall behind posting, usually I’m busy doing things at work ( i do have a job outside the home)then when I get home all of the fun things to be done at home. Just wanted to let you know I have really enjoyed your blog and will be reading the info. on the blog you mention above. I also had someone give us some apples and I did can some and tried dehydrating some also. This is my first time at dehydrating them. In what ways to you use yours. Do you re-hydrate them, or just eat them dried??? Thanks in advance for your info.

    Blessings from my country home in West Virginia to yours,
    Tammy


Leave a Reply

Categories

