Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | August 28, 2008

A Practically Perfect Birthday

Have you noticed we seem to be having lots of birthdays around here?  A few days ago was mine and it was fantastic!  Yes, folks, this was my very last birthday in my twenties.  I am officially going on THIRTY!  Scary.  Seriously, I am very glad for every birthday I get and will be even gladder at the next one!

I received three terrific gifts for my birthday.  The first, I realized as soon as I woke.  Caleb slept through the night!  Yes, it was the first uninterrupted night’s sleep I’ve had in over a year.  (No wonder I’ve been so moody lately!)  That alone was gift enough, eh?  I’m trying not to expect it to be a permanent thing.  You know, if my expectations are low, I won’t be disappointed!

The second came from out of nowhere.  There I was, out in the yard with the kids, and my parents drove up!  With my nieces whom I had not seen in seven months!  From a thousand miles away!  I cannot begin to tell you how homesick I’ve been lately, but God knew, and he sent me the sweetest surprise!  It was almost too much!

The third surprise was…. a date.  With my Beloved.  Without children.  My Mom shoved us out the door to enjoy a night of free babysitting.  So…we browsed Home depot (and talked about the kids), went to eat (and talked about the kids), and hurried to get home as soon as possible because I was so afraid that Caleb would think I was out of his life for good if someone else put him to bed.  It really was wonderful!  My man was soooo good looking!

I don’t know if I’ve ever had such a day!

I thought I’d leave you with some pictures of a very pleasant evening outside with our family!

These are my lovely, sweet nieces, Marysa and Myranda:

And just when I thought he couldn’t get any more handsome, he got a haircut!

We had a great softball game going on in the front yard.  I really am a great fan of organized sports for my children.  Whenever they mention wanting to play a sport, I tell them to organize themselves in the yard with their family!

“Oh, Paw, you’re so amusing!”

Responses

  1. You MUST hear this all the time, but 29??!! You don’t look much older than “barely able to babysit.” That’s meant as a COMPLIMENT, but if you’re unable to receive it now, just stick in you pocket and pull it back out when you’re 39 — surely it’ll “fit” by then!!

  2. Happy belated Birthday! So glad you had a great one and that you got to see your family. What a wonderful surprise!:)

  3. 29 was my worst age. I worried bout turning 30 all year. Maybe being single was a factor. lol! But turning 30 is great. Mainly because I say my age and everyone says… NOooooo the oldest you can be is 22. which I eat up like its sugar.

    Have a Happy Day Kiddo… You don’t look a day older than 16 and I should know, I knew you when you were 16.

  4. What a wonderful birthday. Happy 29th!!!!

  5. Happy Birthday! I am happy for you about your little boy sleeping through the night. My daughter(now 7) got up once a night until she was 15 months old and it really does begin to wear on you.

    I enjoy your reading your blog and I hope you continue to have a good birthday week.

  6. I cried my eyes out when I saw the blog. God is blessing your family. I’m so proud of you both doing God’s will. I will pray for the family many blessing you both deserve it. your living my dream God Bless. Carla Jo turn 30. Hard to believe How fast everyone grew up. Aunt Roze

    • Love you Shari!


Leave a Reply

Categories

