Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | August 1, 2008

Busy, busy, busy!

Do you see this darling little boy?  This is the exact look I get every time I sit down at the computer.  He pulls up on my lap and stares imploringly for a while, then it escalates to banging his fists on my lap if I don’t pay attention, and if that doesn’t work, he’ll let out a howl.  What is the deal, you may ask.  Well, being a mother of five automatically means you are a multi-tasker.  I try not to be on the computer when my children are awake unless I have a very good reason and sitting down to nurse seems like a good reason sometimes.  The only trouble is, my son thinks I must nurse him if I sit in the computer chair!  What a guy!

I have a slightly crazy week ahead.  Tomorrow is our monthly grocery shopping trip.  As I’m sure most of you know, buying groceries right now can be a very emotionally draining experience.  Add to that the cost of buying a month’s worth of food for a family of seven and you have a recipe for some tears when you throw in female hormones!  I’m praying for the Lord to give me some perspective.  Even if we only had a third of our grocery money, we’d still be wealthy compared to the majority of people in this world.  And the world won’t come crashing down if I can’t buy apple juice or ice cream! (sniff, sniff)

We are beginning our school year next week.  Yes, it’s a little early, but we want to be able to take a super long holiday break.  I want to be finished for this year by Thanksgiving in the hope that we can take some extended travel time back to Tennessee.  Not a whole lot going on around the farm that time of year.  As you can imagine, I’m scrambling at the moment to get everything ready, and I still don’t have a couple of the books I need.  God has been so gracious to provide everything we need this year at such a small cost.  I’m hoping to do a lengthy post on our homeschooling methods and philosophies soon!

My baby is turning one next week.  I’m not sure how I feel about that.  He’s my baby, you know?  He’s not supposed to be one yet!  It is so not fair that we can’t slow the clock down!  I’m not sure how we are going to celebrate.  I’ve got that to figure out, too!

It’s almost time to rob the bees!  I’ll be sure to document all that entails– from a very safe distance.  One sting and I swell beyond recognition.  Pretty swell family business, huh?  I’m happy to help with the extraction, but the robbing…

If the Lord brings us to mind this week, pray that we will glorify Him in all our business, and that our light will be going forth to all we meet!

Almost forgot…..we are getting a few eggs already!  Thank you, Lord!

Responses

  1. THAT is an amazing photo. He has grown so much!!!

  2. Your little boy is very cute and it is fun getting eggs. We have 16 chickens and I love going out to get the eggs. It’s like a little surpise everyday to see how many you will get.

  3. He is such a cutie pie! I would love some tips on how to shop one time for that long. I have a hard time shopping only once a week for only 5 people.

  4. What a beautiful baby boy! I nurse my son while I’m on the computer, too…to me, it’s the ultimate multi-tasking when I can eat and drink my coffee at the same time, too! :0) I would LOVE to raise honeybees…and would love to see pics of the process and the finished product. Congrats on the eggs…we are waiting for our first ones, should be soon!

    Love your blog!

    Brandi

  5. Everytime I read an entry, I feel a little more uplifted. I still say that part of you all being in my life is to keep me on track. As if you needed s-thing else on your plate. Don’t worry though, you do that without effort. I love you guys and please keep posting. It always brightens up my day to see that such a spiritual family exists in this world. Miss you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

