Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | May 24, 2008

A very special day ’round here!

The most wonderful man I know turns 31 years young today! I’ve never been very poetic, but on a day like this I wish I were! I’ll borrow my favorite!

To my Dear and Loving Husband

If ever two were one, then surely we.
If ever man were lov’d by wife, then thee.
If ever wife was happy in a man,
Compare with me, ye women, if you can.
I prize thy love more than whole Mines of gold,
Or all the riches that the East doth hold.
My love is such that Rivers cannot quench,
Nor ought but love from thee give recompetence.
Thy love is such I can no way repay.
The heavens reward thee manifold, I pray.
Then while we live, in love let’s so persever,
That when we live no more, we may live ever.


“To my Dear and Loving Husband” from Several Poems. Anne Bradstreet. Boston: John Foster, 1678
.
Here is a first-born son with his first-born son! Check out that farmer tan. I like it lots.
My darling works all day and comes home to work again. As tired as he must be, he never turns the children away when they want to help. He has taught me so much about patience and kindness in parenting. Yes, sometimes he conks out on us, but usually not without a child in his arms!
We are all so thankful for and proud of our Beloved!
Here were all the “olive shoots around your table” tonight, my love. They wanted to wish you the happiest birthday ever!
Responses

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Josh!

    I didn’t know you and Ryan are the same age. He turned 31, April 15. Hope you enjoy your rest with those olive shoots.

    Our Love,
    Megan for the Reeds

  2. What a lovely poem, I’ll have to remember that one come the time my dh has his birthday. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

