Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | May 9, 2008

Contentment on the Journey

I”m the kind of woman who likes to know where I’m headed.  I prefer to know far in advance, too.  I like to make plans in my head about what it’s going to be like and what I’m going to do once I get there.  In other words, I find I spend far too much time with my head in the future and far too little enjoying what God has blessed me with today.

Well, my Father has a way of changing me in a very hands-on style.  Sure, all I need for life and Godliness is right there in His Word, and many times His Word and His Spirit are all I need to change.  But for the toughest cases in my life, like patience and contentment, it seems I’m on a lifelong journey.

So now he’s brought me a thousand miles from home, and I still don’t know where I’m going to be this time next year!  A couple of years ago, Kim would have fallen apart if she could have seen where she would be right now.  How scary, how unstable, how alone, how could you possibly plan things for goodness sake!   But oh, He is so faithful!  He changed me!  He knew where I was going to be and he changed me and gave me exactly the right amount of grace and experience I was going to need.  Wow!  I’m getting excited just typing this!  The creator of the universe is sovereign over all the little details of me! I can be content no matter where He takes me!

Knowing this, I can enjoy what’s going on right now.  I don’t have to worry about what piece of land we’re going to buy, or if our savings are going to be enough to buy it, or if we’re really going to be able to bring Josh home to us and still eat regularly.  Today we have enough to eat.  Today my children’s closets are embarrassingly too full.  Today this wonderful rental house is home, and home is the nicest place in the world!

And tomorrow?  It doesn’t matter.  He is there.  And He is getting me ready for it right now.

Oh, He is so good!

Responses

  1. Thank you for your encouraging post!! I can relate to you, very much. We are headed to Florida in August and still don’t know where we will live, but my Father does!! And He is faithful to do above and beyond what I can think or imagine…so I am hanging on for the ride. Be blessed today and live in TODAY!! I am trying to do that everyday the Father blesses me with. Thank you for being so transparent.
    Blessings, Pamela (soon to become an East Coaster instead of a West Coaster)

  2. What an encouraging post Kim. It reminds me of Galatians 5:5. “For we, through the Spirit, by faith, are waiting for the hope of righteousness.”
    Bryan F.


Leave a Reply

Categories

