Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | May 6, 2008

Hugs from home

Last week my mother, daddy, and grandmother drove over seventeen hours to see me! I’m sure the grandchildren had nothing to do with it. We had such a sweet time! I hadn’t seen my grandmother in over three months when I used to see her at least once a week. She was just as soft as I remembered, and just as good at holding little ones.

Mamaw, Mom, and I were three of the coolest chicks in East Tennessee. We visited all the most happening hangouts regularly. You know,- Goodwill, yard sales, all-you-can-eat buffets.

Mom and Dad really outdid themselves while here. They worked nonstop! I told them they were supposed to be taking it easy, but Mom said they came to give me a break. As if it wasn’t enough cooking all the meals and occupying the children, I also got my windows cleaned, flowers planted, shrubs trimmed, laundry folded, storm cellar cleaned, seedlings watered, chickens fed, hair cuts for the entire family, and children put to bed at night! Did I mention I had a swell week?

All my girls insisted on sleeping in Mom and Dad’s room each night. That’s four children and two adults in the smallest bedroom we have!

Here are the obligatory family photos.

Four generations of women:

My sweet Daddy. Isn’t he handsome?

I loved being able to tuck in my mamaw at night!

Grandparents of grandchildren!

The lines have fallen to me in pleasant places; Indeed, my heritage is beautiful to me. Psalm 16:6

Responses

  1. SO precious!

  2. How sweet. It’s nice to see all the generations caring for one another. I never lived close to my grandparents to form that bond. I’m sure those memories will live with you forever. Blessings-Megan Reed


Leave a Reply

Categories

