Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | April 20, 2008

A Honey of a Man!

Maybe there are those of you that don’t know this, but my Beloved can do anything. Yesterday he installed over 50,000 bees into five hives. Everything went well, except one queen was dead in her cage and will have to be replaced.

Here is the first hive:

He’s also been midwife to more cows than I can count this year. His vocabulary has expanded to include certain terms I’ve never heard him use before such as amniotic sac, breach, engorged, and many others that I dare not share here. My favorite, however, is when he says he had to “pull” a calf. Once again, I will not go into detail about what that means for fear that any woman who has birthed a baby before will suffer heart failure! Let’s just say it involves a crank and an extractor. He has mentioned that with his new credentials and experience, we might not need a midwife again. Pray for me.

Yes, my darling is multi-talented, but his latest deed is dearest to my heart. This weekend, he gave me something I have been longing for ever so much. It was something I’ve envisioned owning for years, imagined myself using barefoot, wearing a long floral dress, while my perfectly groomed children skipped about and my plump baby gurgled on a patchwork quilt. It was……… a clothesline!!!!! Here is Beloved as he demonstrates his great love for me:

I’ll be sure to share a picture of my first load fluttering in the breeze. And I’m sure I’ll be sharing more about this Honey of a man!

Responses

  1. Hi Mrs. Wilkerson! This is Ryann. I really like your blog. I come over here pretty often. I miss you guys so very much!

    I told my Mom that you got 50,000 bees and she goes “Holy Cow! I. Am. So. Jealous!” She said that slowly so at first I thought she was going to say “I am so happy for them!”. Nope.

    We do have thousands of bees, too, but not for honey. My brothers and sister like to throw rocks and sticks at their huge nests. They’ve all gotten stung but that didn’t stop them. After Mom found out what they were doing she stopped them, which is a good thing too because Emmiko is litterally deathly allergic to them.

    Anyways, I just wanted to come over and say hello. I am always over here but never comment. I wish you would come back. It’s so sad not seeing you all around Church and not getting to play with Kate in the nursery! I hope Rachel write me back soon.

    I have so much to say, but this comment is long enough!

    -Ryann Igarashi
    http://WWW.Homeschoolblogger.com/redheadryann

  2. I hung out my clothes today for the first time this season. All 5 loads of um:) I’m sure you’ll enjoy it!
    PS: I was wearing sweat pants while my 3 toddlers played and cried:) Maybe you can pull it off like you dreamed:):)Let us know how it goes:)!!

  3. Hey you Northerners. I guess you are now entering into the beauty of the north as the crops will soon be planted and there is a lovely green as far as the eye can see. I do miss seeing that! Just wanted to write and say howdie y’all, that’s southern for hi you guys! LOL We miss hearing Josh’s music and seeing all the kiddies run around the church. It looks like Kim is really taking to it there. Love the clothes line, still meaning to get one ourselves. Well, I got to get some cleaning done before Ryan gets home.

    –Megan Reed


Leave a Reply

Categories

