Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | March 27, 2008

Getting more Word in my Day

With little ones, the highly revered “quiet time” of reflection and meditation on God’s word is often elusive. Mothers, we must be creative! God really does want to meet us where we are. We can actually bring him along with us throughout our day!

There are many ways to increase our intake of his life-giving Word, even if it is never quiet. Remember, we have so many responsibilities and tasks that we can’t not be in the Word. I have recently put a spiral-bound, flip-thru book of scripture verses on my bathroom vanity. There is only one verse per page. Each time I wash my hands, (and with washing out diapers and potty training a two year old, that is quite frequently), I get a moment to meditate on the same verse. Every little bit helps.

Now I need one for my kitchen sink!

“I want to know one thing,” said John Wesley, “—the way to heaven: how to land safe on that happy shore. God himself has condescended to teach the way. He hath written it down in a book. O give me that book! At any price, give me the book of God! I have it: here is knowledge enough for me. Let me be a man of one book.”

Responses

  1. What a good idea! I was just trying to figure out how I can get more Word into my day–short of getting up at 3 a.m. 🙂 I may have to find a calandar like that.

    And greetings from a fellow Nebraskan. I think we’re on opposite parts of the state, though. I’m way up north, about 15 mins from Yankton, SD.


Leave a Reply

Categories

