Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | March 25, 2008

Working Ourselves Out of a Job

march-08-pics-ne-018.jpg
    Our children have always contributed to the running of the household by being responsible for their chores. However, until recently, their share seemed like tiny drops in an overflowing bucket. The times- they are a changin’ round here! Thanks to my husband’s persistent encouragement to train them to do BIG jobs, I am finally seeing results. I’ve read numerous things from older, wiser, mothers of many that attest to this very thing. Many children can be a big burden or they can be a big blessing, properly trained.
    Guess what!
I no longer have to make bread!!!!!!!
    I have two, beautiful bread bakers in my home now. That’s huge! Either Ashlynne or Rachel makes bread every morning now. For so long I thought it would be so hard to teach them, I just gave up before I started. It turns out that it took me about a week of supervision each morning. And somehow, Miss Ashlynne bakes better, bigger loaves than I do. (I’m going to have to keep an eye on her, I think she’s sneaking in extra yeast!)
Give her of the fruit of her hands,
and let her works praise her in the gates.
Prov. 31:31
march-08-pics-ne-067.jpg
    Bread making isn’t the only thing I’ve been relieved of. I don’t have to clean up after dinner! I’ve been waiting for this since I was a girl. Yes, once again, Beloved stepped in and insisted.
    “Be-lov-ed, do you have any idea how long it will take to teach them this?”
    “Guess you better get to it, then.” Told you he was charming.
    This one took a little longer than a week, but, oh, was it ever worth it. Now I’ll let you in on a little trick I’ve learned. Lists are great!!! My girls love to check off a list. Wonder where they got that from? I divided up all the the steps it took to clean the kitchen by three and all of a sudden it wasn’t so hard anymore. Since then, I’ve went a little list crazy. Now we have lists for doing a load of laundry, making bread, washing hair, cleaning their room, wiping down the kitchen… well, you get the point! I’ve had a few good laughs when Rachel, faced with a daunting task, would say, “But, Mom, I need a list!”
    Now some might say we give our children too many responsibilities, but I would have to disagree. They absolutely love to do a “big” job. They love the appreciation their daddy shows when he comes home to freshly baked bread for lunch. They beam when we brag to others about how well they can fold laundry. They are earning self esteem by doing something that is needed. Now our only problem is no one wants the “little” jobs anymore! That’s okay, we have a whole crop of new recruits coming up, he he he!
march-08-pics-ne-019.jpg
    You know, if the Lord should graciously give us more children, I may be living the life of a queen one day!
  1. nurse the baby
  2. read to the children
  3. take a nap
Responses

  1. Hello there…found you through tammy’s recipes.
    This was a sweet post:) I have 5 boys and 3 girls so our household is a lot more active than yours I’m sure but thanks for the reminder to work with them. My kiddos did their chores this evening and boy i must say that my job WAS a lot easier!!!
    My blog is private for safety reasons but if you’d like access email me at feketenyul@yahoo.ca
    Thanks:)

  2. I came across your blog from Tammy’s Recipes. Thank you for sharing this, I was so blessed and encouraged!! I am inspired to train our children in doing more around the home here. We have 5 little ones (so far). 🙂

    Thanks again and I look forward to visiting your blog again. God bless!!

  3. I can so relate. My dear husband started telling me the same thing some years back. Honestly, I felt guilty that they all helped out so much but hey do see it as fun. With seven now helping in my kitchen, my life has changed so much and I know that it is because of my husband’s insistence that I teach them so that they would be proficient in their own homes some day.
    (I would like to mention that some of my children cook better than I do these days- how did that happen? LOL!)
    Thank you for posting- this was great to read.

    Tracy

  4. I came across your blog from Tammy’s recipes. You have inspired and encouraged me. We have 5 children (so far) and I really need to train them to do some bigger jobs. My two oldest are girls ages 9 1/2 and 7. 🙂 Thanks so much for the inspiration!! 🙂

    I have tried to comment twice already and don’t see them here… Sorry if you keep getting comments from me. 🙂

    Have a wonderful day!

  5. Oh I so hope that’s me someday;)

  6. Thank you for the encouragement to train my children!! I have 5 also (and one on the way!) My oldest is 7 years old, so I often think she is “too young”, but she is also so capable! I need to just take the time to train, and if she isn’t ready to take over, at least she can be a great helper!
    :o) Rachel (also found you from Tammy’s Recipes.)

  7. I found your blog through Tammy’s recipes. I am interested to hear about your trek to Nebraska. We are making plans to move into ministry and move to Florida, this August. We have 4 children and I am gathering all the advice I can for long road trip tips. I know your trip wasn’t nearly as long, but I would love to hear your thoughts on keeping them occupied, enjoying the trip, etc…We plan to stop and see much of the beautiful country God has created, ie: the Grand Canyon. It was just great to find another family, trusting God to move into what He has for your family. Blessings to you as your start your adventure. Your children are beautiful. We have the opposite in our home…3 boys and one princess!! And, yes, she is the princess!!
    God Bless, Pamela (from Oregon, soon to be Florida)
    danpamhawk@verizon.net

  8. i LOVE this post. you are so right, and we have benefitted big time by teaching our kids when they are young.
    PS ryann says hi and that she loves you and misses you all so much
    PPS Ditto from me!

  9. I just wanted to share I was blessed by this post! I came across your blog from Tammy’s recipes and I have been inspired and encouraged! I have 5 little ones (so far) and I really need to start training the older ones to do some “big” jobs.

    Thanks again!

  10. hello again! your comment made me laugh — yet at the same time it makes me think about having some contracts drawn up… haha

    Also, the letter R sent to Ryann was read out loud several times. My favorite parts were when she said, “It’s most unfair you don’t get popcorn” and “Nebraska is ever so fun”. She sounds like she stepped out of an 1800’s novel.

  11. What a wonderful journey you are on. Keep up the good work. I live in middle Tennessee.


Leave a Reply

Categories

