Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | March 13, 2008

Is it spring yet?

Today was the second day of mid 60 degree weather. I can’t begin to describe how wonderful it feels after being inside for so long. I told the girls to soak up as much sunshine as they could because it’s not here to stay. Snow is in the forecast this weekend.

The girls are delighted to have their very own clubhouse in the front yard. It’s actually an old chicken coop, but they still have big plans. Today they informed me that they had swept it out and scrubbed it a bit. I don’t have any idea what they scrubbed it with, but I decided not to ask.

march-08-pics-ne-027.jpg

One thing I was glad to leave behind in Tennessee was the red dirt. Half of their clothes still bear the stains. I figured Nebraska must be a much cleaner place to raise up a brood of young’uns. Well, let me tell you, black dirt is a whole different story. Sure, I’m going to appreciate it come garden time, but now, it bears an eerie resemblance to manure. And when there’s so much manure around anyway, you have to do the sniff test to figure out what you are dealing with.

Here are the very first dirty feet of spring:

march-08-pics-ne-030.jpg

And here is the cutie pie they are attached to:

march-08-pics-ne-029.jpg

Leave a Reply

Categories

