Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | April 18, 2010

Reevaluations

I have some confessions I need to make:

I don’t hand-wash my laundry anymore.

Gasp!!!

We motorized our wheat grinder.

Oh, no!

And I’m not even sorry.

Now you’re not interested in me anymore are you?

What is happening over at First Fruits Farm?

Reevaluating.

Our mission is to glorify God and enjoy Him forever and to raise up little people who will glorify God by enjoying Him forever.  Not to have the status of living without electricity or doing everything the old-fashioned way.  Nope, nothing wrong with either, in their time and place.  This just may not be the time for us.

We planned and dreamed these off-grid dreams because we believed it would greatly assist us in being able to provide for our family from our own farm.  Sounds reasonable, right?  No electric bill should be cheaper than having one, but it almost isn’t.  When you have to re-do almost everything on your farm, or buy costly wind and solar power gadgets, or all the power tools you have are no longer useful – off-grid becomes harder to swallow!

This is not to say that we’re tossing the cookstove and buying a dishwasher.  We are making huge strides in cutting back on our electricity usage.  For example, Joshua tied our hot water heater into our woodstove.  When the heat is on, we no longer spend money for our hot water!  When you don’ t pay for heat or cooking or hot water or a clothes dryer, you can get some mighty sweet $50 electric bills!

My Beloved would like to supplement our income with wood-working.  All of his tools are, you guessed it, electric.  So should we have electricity in the shop, but not the house?  I dunno.  When I found out that my washing machine usage probably cost me less than $7-8 per month, I cried uncle.  And now, I’m serious, I praise my Lord every time I put a load of clothes in the washer.  I think every woman should hand-wash her laundry for a few months and see if she EVER complains about laundry with a washing machine again!

So where are we going from here?  Wherever He leads us.  We’ve talked about running the electricity for 2 days a week.  That would allow me to wash the clothes, make the bread to sell, etc.  But what about our freezers?  It makes preserving our food so much easier.  So much more added stress to can everything…   See the circles we go round?

But I rest in this:  Father will provide what we need, when we need it.  If we can’t afford electricity in the future, with His help I’ll sing while scrubbing!  Right now, I’ll just praise Him for the washing machine!

Responses

  1. Nothing at all wrong with moderation. At least you know if you had to you could live without the washing machine etc! Life is to enjoy!

  2. We must always being willing to reevaluate our lives, and our walk with the Lord. To make sure what we’re are doing is what He has called us to do, not just some idea that we think He might like.
    I’ve seen where living off-grid, and other things have become ones only relationship with the Lord, instead of truly being lead by the Holy Spirit, and living to serve to the Lord.
    Blessing to you.
    Please stop by my blog friend.

  3. I love you, Kim! :) I have you in my google reader and I ALWAYS read any new post you make. And you always make me smile and how I just want to give you a hug! :)
    We are always reevaluating many areas of our life and the ministry here. As we grow, the Spirit convicts and guides, needs change and we continue to learn, we always try to be sensitive to what the Lord wants us to do and follow His direction.
    Sometimes it gets confusing whether it is something we want or He wants or both…but How good our Father is to give us wisdom and doesn’t leave us to wander but sets our feet on a sure path as we seek Him with our whole hearts.
    I agree with you! I have washed by hand and by stomping…and I while I don’t know how long my machines will last, I am sooo grateful for every load I do in them!
    I don’t think a day goes by that I don’t thank the Lord or at least think how very grateful I am for our home after living in a travel trailer with 10 children.
    We even had times of no running water and I am so thankful for the blessing of having a sink where I just turn on the faucet and water comes out to wash my dishes or face!
    Just wanted to say hi :) The Lord convicted me much about my computer time this past year, so I don’t comment much and don’t read very many blogs anymore, but I do read yours and think how wonderful it would be if someday we could meet :) I could learn so much from you!
    Have a blessed week in the Lord!

  4. Reevaluation is always good. We do not live off grid but we try to keep our electric (and other) bills as low as possible. May God bless you and your family as you strive to walk closer to Him. Take care and God bless.

  5. I think that the life you have/had desired is very hard without community. We have had the great joy of experiencing at different stages and places in our marriage the joy of living as a family but within the close contact of a like -minded fellowship. Trying to can, raise, butcher, garden, bake, hand grind, sell bread etc… in the United States pretty much alone would be a HUGE difficulty. In a community butchering is often shared. One brother with butcher and the others come along to help. I have done lots and lots of canning but always with many ladies. In a community you would hear how others use a freezer. Out here for example, a freezer is run twice a day for about an hour by generator. We would know friends who have not had electricity bill ever and their one time costs of solar has been a great income reducer for them but then again, they are in a community. So that’s my 2 cnts. The most important thing is to remember that our salvation is by grace and not our works. For many we know living “off grid” is a way to intentionally work togethr as a family – it keeps worldly enertainment often at bay – but, agian, I have only seen it work within some type of community – BLESSINGS – Sj

  6. Reevaluation is good to do… Living simply is good, but I do enjoy having a washer/ dryer, enjoy using my clothesline and my other “maids” in the kitchen. :)

    There is a time and a season for everything… I;m sure you learned lots and know that you can do without if the need ever arised.

    When in my teens, we lived without electricity for 11 months, it was a good learning experience and I’m glad we did it! I have lived without running water too, I always think it has helped me to appreciate and I also know that I can do it!

    Blessings to you!!

  7. We have been going that simple, off-grid direction for a while now, but I am seeing already how going too far can literally take soooooo much of my time away from family if I’m not careful. Re-evaluation is always a good thing! NOTHING, no matter how simple, off-grid, or well-intentioned should ever come between God or family.

  8. Kim, thank you so much for our transparency. Often I think of mothers like you and feel like I will never measure up but you continually point back to Christ and away from works–I need that!!! love u all –
    your Chattanooga Family


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

