Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | April 13, 2010

Pet Cemetery and Children of the Corn

My children cannot let the smallest creature go without a proper burial.  We have even buried a stray cat or two.

Aren’t cemeteries  fascinating?  Don’t you just love to read headstones?  I didn’t realize until just a few days ago what a treasure lay behind my own house.  (Which means I might be a bad mother that opts out of chicken and cat funerals!)

And here’s our latest resident.  Black Susan was a stray that liked to come around now and then and sleep in our garage.  We found her/him dead in said garage.  Apparently she/he (never was quite sure) had been fighting.  Rachel promptly carried it out of the garage with a shovel and had it buried before I knew anything about it.  That’s the way I like it.  I cracked up over the “fondly remembered” bit.  Where did they get that?

Ok, completely unrelated, except for the goofy title, is our corn harvest.  In April.  Last year, the weather was so uncooperative that some farmers couldn’t get all of their corn out.  Our neighbor was one such farmer.  He generously allowed us to come harvest some.  Our chickens will be delighted!

That’s all,  folks!

Responses

  1. Back when Kevin and I were first dating, I told him about this “awesome cemetery” down the street from Maryville College. We walked there and had our first deep hear-to-heart of our relationship.

    However, I distinctly remember him making fun of my calling a cemetery “awesome,” but it sounds like my sis-in-law has similar sentiments. I must have been MEANT to be a part of your family! Haha. :)

    Love you! (and for more than just the fact that we both like cemeteries :).

  2. Your children sound so sweet… :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

