Posted by: firstfruitsfarmne | April 11, 2010

Good Ole Granola

My Kate used to say, “Mom can we have some gorilla for breakfast?”

Several people have asked for my granola recipe and I’m a little stumped as to how to give it.  You see, I basically throw in what I have!

Let me walk you through how I do it:

(You  do know this makes A LOT don’t you?  You could probably divide it by four and still have enough!)

I start with two cups of oil.  My preference would be half coconut oil and half butter, but since I’m out of coconut oil, I’m using olive, and it’s fine.  Two cups of butter is really the bomb-diggity, but I have to ration that butter.  So pour your oil/butter in a big, big pot.  I use a stock pot.  Add two cups of honey.  If you don’t have honey, sucanat is good.  If you don’t have that, you can use brown sugar and I won’t tell anyone.  Two cups of water is next, and you can use any kind of water you want ;).

Get your water, oil, honey mixture warm and thin.  Then comes the fun part.

I usually start with about 18 cups of oats.  Since I am in the western half of the US, I am soooo blessed to be able to get the majority of my groceries from Azure.  They are awesome.  I can buy most all of my staples in bulk— organic, and cheaper than I can get at the grocery store.  Plus they deliver to a town not too far away with a semi, and I don’t have to push a buggy through the grocery store.  So where was I?

18 cups of oats.  Add it right into your big pot.   Mix to coat with the honey/oil mixture.  Then add what you like, in what proportions you like.  Aren’t you glad I don’t write cookbooks?

Here’s some of the goodies I add:

Unsweetened coconut (I use four cups.  I buy it in bulk.)

whole wheat flour (a couple of cups)

vanilla

almonds

pumpkin seeds

flax seeds

sesame seeds

millet (dry, a couple of cups. Gives it a little crunch)

salt (a tsp or two)

cinnamon

This requires a good bit of mixing to coat everything evenly.  If you want to add dried fruit, do that after it bakes.  This makes about seven or eight large cookie sheets worth, so it takes me awhile to get it all baked.  I would bake it at no more than 350.  I usually just like mine toasted, so I don’t bake it very long.  Don’t you just love how specific I am!

What’s great is how much you can do with it.  Milk or yogurt, fruit or chocolate chips, or my favorite:  slice up a banana, sprinkle granola on top, and drizzle with peanut butter and honey.  Or you could make granola bars.  Or granola crusts for a pie…..


Responses

  1. Yeah, it would take Pop two months to finish of that batch. We’ll just come mooch some.

  2. Thank you for sharing this. Yes, I DO wish you wrote cookbooks. This is just the style in which I think. 2 questions. You said that you do not bake thi long because you like it toasted. I like it toasted too but would hink that baking it longer wil make it more crispy – what am I mising? 2. I know you are busy but will you pleeeeeeease share how you turn this into a pie crust?
    Sj
    By the way you are WELCOME to visit our site to get an idea about our family. We are a Beachy Amish family and alothough we do have electricity we have many friends who do not. Just click on our site their will be a pot where you click to request the password and I will send it right to you.
    God bless you!

  3. Thank you for sharing this. It would probably take us a month to finish it all. How long can you store it??

  4. Well I never considered using my huge stock pot to mix a giant batch of granola. My girls will love this when I show them. My 7 yod has been begging to make granola for a few weeks now. I think I know what we’re going to do for her ‘mommy time’ this afternoon. :) Thanks for sharing.

    BTW, I love the way you cook. I do the same thing with just about everything I cook. The unfortunately part of it is that if I actually make something really good, I can’t repeat it. LOL!!!! Still working on that part. I am getting better about writing certain recipes down now.

    I am loving your blog.

  5. Sounds yummy!! I bake our granola over night in the oven. I have to make every two weeks! This is the recipe I use…

    http://www.tammysrecipes.com/almond_coconut_granola

    I submitted it to Tammy’s years ago! :)

  6. OK, I just made this recipe, and it is sooooo much better and crispier than my recipe. I have a new favorite! One question though….we also like granola bars, and I can’t seem to get these to stay pressed together when I remove them from the pan. They just break apart into the perfect granola cereal. Any suggestions, or do I need to alter something to make it stick as bars instead of just cereal?


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

